Parker County - TX
Hours of Operations
Monday – 9AM to 5PM
Tuesday – 9AM to 5PM
Wednesday – 9AM to 5PM
Thursday – 9AM to 5PM
Friday – 9AM to 5PM
Saturday – Closed
Sunday – Closed
Law Offices Of Richard C. McConathy
Firearms and other weapons are extremely important to a number of Texans, but state law also restricts the places these items can be carried and used. When a person brings a firearm or weapon into a prohibited place, they can possibly face criminal charges.
A firearm or weapon offense could lead to some serious penalties in some cases, including not only the possibility of jail time and fines but also maybe becoming ineligible to possess a weapon or firearm. Beyond that, there could also be the potential for a damaging criminal record that causes undue hardship in matters concerning employment, housing, or other areas.
If you were arrested for a firearm or weapons crime in Parker County, it is going to be important for you to quickly seek legal representation. Make sure you have a criminal defense lawyer who is knowledgeable about the kind of case that you have.
The Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy has defended people accused of all kinds of gun crimes and we will be able to fight to help you protect your freedom. You can have us review your case and discuss everything with you when you call (817) 458-3226 or contact our firm online to receive a free consultation.
Under section 46.01 of the Texas Penal Code, weapons, guns, and firearms in Texas that are prohibited and can result in a criminal offense can include any of the following:
Texas may have some of the country’s most lenient weapons laws, but there are still situations where it’s illegal to carry a weapon. It doesn’t matter if the weapon is a handgun, club, or knife; you can still be charged with the offense if you are caught with the weapon in the wrong place.
According to Texas Penal Code § 46.02, it’s against the law to carry a weapon unless you are on your property or you’re inside of, or on the way to your vehicle. It’s also against the law to have a handgun in plain view inside the vehicle. The only time the gun can be in plain sight is if you are licensed to carry it, and it’s being carried in a shoulder or belt holster
You face Class A misdemeanor charges if you are convicted under this section of the Penal Code. A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by no more than a year in jail, a fine that can cost up to $4,000, or both.
If you are caught unlawfully carrying a handgun in a place that is licensed or permitted to sell alcohol, your charges could be elevated to a third-degree felony. If convicted, you will be facing no less than two years but not more than 10 in prison, and a fine that can cost up to $10,000.
To ensure the safety of others, there are places where you are prohibited from carrying a weapon. Texas Penal Code § 46.03 makes it illegal to carry a weapon in the following locations:
If you are caught carrying a handgun in any of the aforementioned locations, you will be facing a third-degree felony. It’s irrelevant to the court if you are licensed to carry a handgun in Texas.
There are also places where knives are restricted. These knives are called “location-restricted knives” and they have a blade that is over five and a half inches long. It’s against the law to carry a location-restricted knife in the following locations:
Possessing a location-restricted knife in any of the locations mentioned in this section is a Class C misdemeanor. You could face a fine of up to $500 if convicted. If the knife was in your possession while you were at a school or educational institution, you will be charged with a third-degree felony.
Certain individuals are prohibited from owning firearms in Texas. Texas Penal Code § 46.04 makes it illegal for convicted felons to possess a gun within five years of being released from confinement, parole, or community supervision.
If you are a convicted felon and you are found in possession of a firearm, you will face a third-degree felony charge. After five years have passed since being released, convicted felons can possess a firearm in their home.
It’s also illegal to possess a firearm within five years of being released from confinement or community supervision for a conviction of assault against a family member. Possession of a weapon is a Class A misdemeanor that can land you in jail for a year and a fine of $4,000.
Texas is a place that takes pride in honoring the right to keep and bear arms, but they still place a limitation on the type of firearms and other weapons its citizens are allowed to keep and bear. There are only a handful of weapons the state makes illegal to own, and they are listed under section 46.05 of the Texas Penal Code.
How you are charged for possessing an illegal weapon depends on the weapon. Listed below are weapons that are illegal to own in Texas and the charges you could face if they are found in your possession.
Some of these weapons can be legally owned if they are registered with the National Firearms Registration and Transfer Record, or if they are classified as a curio or relic by the United States Department of Justice.
Chapter 411 of the Texas Government Code states individuals in Texas who have applied for and met the requirements to carry a concealed handgun license are permitted to carry a handgun in a public place that does not sell alcohol.
In order to meet the requirements to carry a concealed handgun, an individual must not have any felony convictions, must be in compliance with all state and federal laws, and meet other specified criteria.
An individual may be disqualified from receiving a concealed handgun license if they:
The penalties for firearm, weapon, and gun crimes in Texas are listed in Chapter 12 of the Texas Penal Code. However, these are the basic statutory penalties, and they can increase depending on a variety of factors, including the type of offense they allegedly committed, whether they are considered a violent offender, where the offense allegedly occurred, whether the alleged offense involved a minor, and whether the alleged offender has any criminal history.
Handgun Licensing – Texas Department of Public Safety — The Texas DPS website provides general information on concealed handguns in Texas, how to apply for a concealed handgun in the state, answers to frequently asked firearm and gun questions, and Texas laws regarding firearm and weapon laws. Also view reports and statistics. Various forms can also be found on this website.
National Rifle Association: Home of the NRA — This is the official website of the NRA, which identifies itself as “America’s longest-standing civil rights organization.” Read about politics and legislation, NRA programs, and benefits of NRA membership. You can also learn more about the organization.
Were you arrested for a firearm or weapons crime in the Weatherford area? You must make sure that you have the help of a skilled attorney before you appear in court.
The Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy will aggressively defend you against any and all criminal charges stemming from a weapons or firearm crime. We will be able to fully explain to you what we can do when you call (817) 458-3226 or contact us online to take advantage of a free consultation.
Flying While Intoxicated
Third or Subsequent DWI
DWI with BAC over 0.15
Controlled Substances and DWI
DWI Test Refusal and Implied Consent
License Suspension Hearings
DWI with Child Passenger
Contesting Blood Alcohol Tests
Ignition Interlock Device
DWI with Property Damage
SR-22 / DWI Insurance